United Kingdom

Building collaboration

The Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021 has established four Corporate Joint Committees in Wales. Peter Grocock, Public Sector Practice Leader at Aon – South West, Wales and Central, explains how this will benefit collaboration in the region.

Change is on the cards across Wales, with four Corporate Joint Committees (CJCs) established on 1 April 2021. The four CJCs – North Wales, Mid Wales, South East Wales and South West Wales – will drive greater regional collaboration and help to promote economic wellbeing.

The four CJCs will bring together locally elected members to make decisions about local government services. Initially, they will be responsible for strategic arrangements relating to land use planning, transport planning and economic development.

Although principal councils have been collaborating effectively for many years, this formalises the approach, offering opportunities to streamline existing arrangements and provide greater clarity and consistency. This will ensure that expertise and experience to be shared and resources are used appropriately for the benefit of the communities.

Their establishment could also provide a catalyst for further development of collaborative arrangements across local government.

The four CJCs are as follows:

  • North Wales Corporate Joint Committee
    Conwy county borough council, Denbighshire county council, Flintshire county borough council, Gwynedd council, Isle of Anglesey country council, Wrexham county borough council
  • Mid Wales Corporate Joint Committee
    Ceredigion county council, Powys county council
  • South East Wales Corporate Joint Committee
    Cardiff county council, Monmouthshire county council, Blaenau Gwent county borough council, Bridgend country borough council, Caerphilly county borough council, Merthyr Tydfil county borough council, Newport county borough council, Rhondda, Cynon, Taff county borough council, Torfaen county borough council, The Vale of Glamorgan country borough council
  • South West Wales Corporate Joint Committee
    Carmarthenshire county council, Neath Port Talbot county borough council, Pembrokeshire county council, Swansea county council

Each CJC is a separate corporate body which can employ staff, hold assets and budgets, and undertake functions. From a legal perspective, they’re treated as a member of the local government family and, where appropriate, subject to the same powers and duties as principal councils.

Throughout the consultation process, the formation of the CJCs has received overwhelming support, especially from local authorities, and many hope they will build on the collaborative approach that came to the fore during the pandemic.

At Aon, we also see this as a positive move. It will create a more joined-up approach, removing inefficiencies and ensuring that funds are delivered to where they’re needed.

We’re also watching closely to see how CJCs develop. Although their initial remit is around strategic planning, this may be extended over time to collective procurement and we would be happy to provide support and advice wherever required.

More information

To discuss any of the points raised in this article, please contact your account manager or Peter Grocock at [email protected]